Skip to main content

Library

​​

Pleas​e note: CRNBC Registrant library services ending Feb. 2017

Effective March 1, 2017, the CRNBC library will no longer be offering library services to registrants.Scroll down to the "other resources" section below to learn more about other library services available to you. ​

Services

The Helen Randal Library is a specialty nursing practice library offering full online library services. We do not offer a walk-in library service. 

Contact: Email reflib@crnbc.ca or call 604.736.7331 to speak with a reference librarian.​

Hours: Monday - Friday, 0830 to 1630 hours excluding stat holidays.​

 Resources

Library catalogue

Search books, journals, audiovisual and online resources 

View NEW materials

We send library materials free of charge within B.C.

CINAHL & DynaMed Databases

Search the CINAHL Complete journal article database and the DynaMed point-of-care clinical reference tool.

  • CRNBC off-site users login
  • CRNBC in-house users login

Reference services

We can help you conduct literature searches and find articles outside our library.

 Other resources

Effective March 1, 2017, the CRNBC library will no longer be offering library services to registrants. However, it's likely that you have access to other library services through your employer: 

First Nations Health Authority

First Nations Health Authority offers e-HLBC access to all employees.

Fraser Health

​Fraser Health offers full library services to all employees.

Interior Health

​Interior Health offers full library services to all employees.

Island Health (formerly VIHA)

​Island Health offers full library services to all employees.

​Ministry of Health/Ministry of Child & Family Services

The Health and Human Services Library offers full library services to  Ministry of Health & Ministry of Child and Family Services employees.

Northern Health

Northern Health offers full library services to all employees.

Providence Health Care

​Providence Health Care staff working under a joint employment contract with Vancouver Coastal Health (VCH) should contact Vancouver Coastal Health Library Services:

Staff of Providence St. Paul’s/Hornby/Howe sites should contact UBC Library:

Providence Health Care staff not working at St. Paul’s/Hornby/Howe sites or in conjunction with VCH should contact Providence Health Care Research Institute:

Provincial Health Services Authority

BC Cancer Agency staff should contact BC Cancer Agency Library:

PHSA staff working under a joint employment contract with Vancouver Coastal Health should contact Vancouver Coastal Health Library Services:

Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children staff should contact the Clinical Librarian at the Child Development & Rehabilitation Evidence Centre:

UBC-affiliated staff of BC Children’s and Women’s Hospital should contact UBC Library:

Non-UBC-affiliated BC Children’s & Women’s Hospital staff, and all other PHSA staff, should contact the Study and Learning Commons @ BCCW:

Vancouver Coastal Health

Vancouver Coastal Health offers full library services to all employees.

Post-secondary institution libraries

BCIT (Burnaby)
Nursing librarian: Ana-Maria Ferrinho (Ana-Maria_Ferrinho@bcit.ca; 604-432-8546)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.bcit.ca/library/otherusers.shtml

Camosun College (Victoria)
Nursing librarian: Patsy Scott (scottp@camosun.ca; 250-370-3606)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://camosun.ca/services/library/services.html

College of New Caledonia (Prince George)
Nursing librarian: James Lovitt (lovittj@cnc.bc.ca; 250-562-2131 x 5396)
Community borrower info: http://www.cnc.bc.ca/Exploring/Services/library/quicktips.htm#card

College of the Rockies (Cranbrook)
Nursing library technician: Sue Morin (smorin@cotr.bc.ca; 250-489-2751 x 3501)
Community borrower info: http://library.cotr.bc.ca/cotr_web.asp?IDNumber=313

Douglas College (New Westminster)
Nursing librarians: Mary Matthews (matthewsm@douglascollege.ca; 604-527-5438) or Christian Guillou (guillouc@douglascollege.ca; 604-527-5438)
Community borrower info: http://library.douglascollege.ca/services/community-reciprocal-borrowers

Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Langley)
Nursing librarian: Jan Penhorwood (jan.penhorwood@kpu.ca; 604-599-3236)
Community borrower info: http://www.kpu.ca/library/services/cb
Alumni borrower info: http://www.kpu.ca/library/services/alumni

Langara College (Vancouver)
Nursing librarian: Alison Curtis (acurtis@langara.bc.ca; 604-323-5465)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://langara.ca/library/services/alumni-visitors.html

North Island College (Courtenay)
Nursing librarian: Lynette Gallant (lynette.gallant@hotmail.com; 250-334-5097)
Community borrower info: http://library.nic.bc.ca/services/borrowing/library_cards.aspx#CB

Northwest Community College (Terrace)
Library Coordinator: Melanie Wilke ( mwilke@nwcc.bc.ca; 250-635-6511)
Community borrower info: https://www.nwcc.bc.ca/library-and-nwcc-id-cards/#publiccards

Okanagan College (Kelowna)
Nursing librarian: Roën Janyk (rjanyk@okanagan.bc.ca; 250-762-5445)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.okanagan.bc.ca/Student_Services/students/library/about/policies/Borrowers.html#community

Selkirk College (Castlegar)
College librarian: Greg Currie (gcurrie@selkirk.ca; 250-365-1263)
Community borrower info: http://www.library.selkirk.ca/about/faqs-for-community-members/

Thompson Rivers University (Kamloops)
Nursing librarian: Michael Purcell (mpurcell@tru.ca; 250-828-5021)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/alumniandcommunity.html

Trinity Western University (Langley)
Nursing librarian: Duncan Dixon (Duncan.dixon@twu.ca; 604-513-2121 x 3923)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.twu.ca/library/borrowersguideindex.htm#who_may_borrow

UBC Vancouver (Woodward Library, Point Grey Campus)
Nursing librarian: Katherine Miller (katherine.miller@ubc.ca; 604-822-0295)
Community borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/borrowing-services/library-cards/unaffiliated/#Community-0
Alumni borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/user-guides/alumni/

UBC Okanagan Campus (Kelowna)
Nursing librarian: Robert Janke (robert.janke@ubc.ca; 250-807-9109)
Community borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/borrowing-services/library-cards/unaffiliated/#Community-0
Alumni borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/user-guides/alumni/

University of the Fraser Valley (Abbotsford)
Nursing librarian: Heather Compeau (heather.compeau@ufv.ca; 604-504-7441 x 4096)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.ufv.ca/library/library-services--policies/borrowing-materials/

University of Northern British Columbia (Prince George)
Nursing librarian: Trina Fyfe (fyfet@unbc.ca; 250-960-5195)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://library.unbc.ca/using-library/circulation/becoming-patron

University of Victoria
Nursing librarian: Carol Gordon (cjgordon@uvic.ca; 250-721-6161)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.uvic.ca/library/use/borrow/borrowing/external/index.php

Vancouver Community College
Nursing librarian: Ella-Faye Zalezsak (efzalezsak@vcc.ca; 604-871-7000 x 7385)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://library.vcc.ca/using-the-library/borrow-renew-request/loan-periods-limits-and-fines/

Vancouver Island University (Nanaimo)
Nursing librarian: Jean Blackburn (jean.blackburn@viu.ca; 250-753-3245, x 2091)
Community and alumni borrower info: https://library.viu.ca/library-accounts-community-borrowers-alumni-and-others

 Who can use the library?

  • registrants of CRNBC, and
  • staff of the CRNBC.

 Canada Post service disruption

​The Canada Post labour dispute is impacting some library services. Find out more.

 Contacts

604.736.7331
toll-free 1.800.565.6505 (Canada)

Borrowing, renewals

Randi Tywoniuk ext. 456

Reference librarians

Linda Barker ext. 119
Carol MacFarlane ext. 115



 

Home > Library