Skip to main content

June 2015

CRNBC Board Meeting - June 19, 2015
 0830 hours
CRNBC Boardroom - 2855 Arbutus Street, Vancouver, B.C.

In Attendance

Mary Kjorven, Chair
Lorraine Grant, Vice-chair
Stephanie Buckingham
Chilwin Cheng
Colleen Driscoll
Sheila Farrell
Anne Gavey
Colleen Hay
Ana-Maria Hobrough
Dave Kruyt
Tricia Marck
Pearl Pacheco
Kath Ann Terrett
Cynthia Johansen, Registrar/Chief Executive Officer


Marilyn Loewen Mauritz

Also in Attendance

Leadership Team:

Natasha Dookie, Deputy Registrar/Director, Registration, Inquiry and Discipline
Katherine Graham, Director, Communication and Human Resources
Daniel Laflèche, Director, Corporate Support
Christine Penney, Deputy Registrar/Director, Policy, Practice and Quality Assurance

CRNBC Staff:

Lisa Ryan, Executive Assistant


Rhonda Jolley

Lorna Roe

Olecia Walker

Call to order 

Mary Kjorven, Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:44 a.m.


Approval of Agenda

By general consent, it was agreed to adopt the agenda as circulated.


Approval of Minutes

Moved and seconded to approve the following minutes of the CRNBC Board as circulated:

  • April 10, 2015 (in person)
  • May 25, 2015 (email vote)


New Business – Financial Report for April 2015

Receive the draft of April 2015 Financials as presented at the Board dinner on June 18, 2015.


(Kath-Ann Terrett–abstained) 

Item 4 – Principles for Working Together – CLPNBC, CRNBC, CRPNBC

Approve the Principles for Working Together as listed in the June 19, 2015 Board Report.


Item 5 – Appointment – Early Intervention Program (Health)

Approve the appointment of Hilary Planden to the Inquiry Sub-Committee: Early Intervention Program (Health). Term of office commences June 22, 2015 and expires the day after the first sitting of the newly appointed Board in September 2016.


Item 6 – Appointments – Education Program Review Committee 

The Board approves the following Education Program Review Committee appointments:

  • Ministry of Health: Health Care Employer Nominee {Name Pending}: three-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Non-Nursing Health Care Profession - Medical Practitioner: {Name Pending}, threeyear term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Registrant Representing Practice: Edna McLellan, three-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Alternate Registrant Representing Practice: Francesca Chiste, one-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Nurse Educator: Nursing Education Program: Cat Ann Martin, three-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Nurse Administrator: Leanne Thain, two-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Chair: Leanne Thain, one-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.
  • Vice-Chair: Linda Pickthall, one-year term of office commencing July 1, 2015.


(Tricia Marck–abstained) 

Item 7 – Oral Histories of Nursing

 Approve the transfer of Oral History information and and copyright to the BC History of Nursing Archives in the School of Nursing at UBC.


(Stephanie Buckingham–abstained)

Item 8 – Nursing Community Assessment Service – Funding Supports

The Board approves an allocation of up to $300,000 in support of the Nursing Community Assessment Service.


Item 9 – Board Policy Review – Information Management and Information Security

Discussion item. 

Ana-Maria Hobrough joined the meeting at 11:35 am

Item 10 – Registrar/CEO Report

Informational item.

The board broke for lunch at this time 12:05 pm and will reconvene the Open Session after the in-camera session later today.

Item 11 – Relational Regulation Survey with Registrants – Next Steps

 Informational item.

Item 12 – Revised Registration Committee Policy Approved by Registration Committee.

 Informational item.


The Open Session adjourned at 4:30 pm

Certified as Approved:

Mary Kjorven, Chair
Cynthia Johansen, Registrar/Chief Executive Officer
Home > About CRNBC > Board, committees & governance > Board Minutes > June 2015