Skip to main content

Professional Standards

Getting started  

CRNBC’s four Professional Standards for registered nurses and nurse practitioners fall under the umbrella of all CRNBC Standards of Practice.

The Professional Standards include an introduction that explains what standards are, why they are important and who has responsibility for them. It also defines Professional Standards and Indicators (i.e., how each Professional Standard is met).

The section on Professional Standards presents each of the four standards

The Standards

Download the full Professional Standards (PDF)


Standard 1: Professional Responsibility and Accountability

Standard 2: Knowledge-Based Practice

Standard 3: Client-Focused Provision of Service 

Standard 4: Ethical Practice

Indicators are used to illustrate how each Professional Standard is applied in four main areas of practice:

  • Clinical
  • Education
  • Administration
  • Research

There are several relevant resources available, including a glossary of terms. Refer to the right-hand column.

 Standards of Practice

The College is responsible under the Health Professions Act for setting Standards of Practice for its registrants. CRNBC Standards of Practice comprise:

Professional Standards

These Standards provide an overall framework for the practice of nursing in British Columbia. They set out minimum levels of performance that nurses  are required to achieve in their practice. 

Practice Standards

Requirements related to specific aspects of nurses’ practice. These standards complement the Professional Standards and provide additional information on specific topics. View Practice Standards

Scope of Practice Standards

Standards, limits and conditions related to the scope of practice for registered nurses and nurse practitioners.


 Need help?

For further information on the Standards of Practice or professional practice matters, contact us:

  • Telephone 604.736.7331 ext. 332
  • Toll-free in Canada 1.800.565.6505
  • Email
Home > Nursing standards > Professional Standards