Skip to main content

Library

CRNBC Staff Library

CRNBC Staff Library is a specialty nursing practice library that supports the regulatory work of CRNBC employees.

 Library resources for registrants

As of March 1, 2017, the CRNBC library no longer offers library services to registrants. However, it's likely that you have access to other library services through your employer on the list below.

If you work for a private employer, check the "post-secondary institution libraries" section for their Community and Alumni borrower info. You may be able to arrange access to your local academic library via a community or alumni borrower card, even if you are not currently affiliated with the institution.  

First Nations Health Authority

First Nations Health Authority offers e-HLBC access to all employees.

Fraser Health

​Fraser Health offers full library services to all employees.

Interior Health

​Interior Health offers full library services to all employees.

Island Health (formerly VIHA)

​Island Health offers full library services to all employees.

​Ministry of Health/Ministry of Child & Family Services

The Health and Human Services Library offers full library services to  Ministry of Health & Ministry of Child and Family Services employees.

Northern Health

Northern Health offers full library services to all employees.

Providence Health Care

​Providence Health Care staff working under a joint employment contract with Vancouver Coastal Health (VCH) should contact Vancouver Coastal Health Library Services:

Staff of Providence St. Paul’s/Hornby/Howe sites should contact UBC Library:

Providence Health Care staff not working at St. Paul’s/Hornby/Howe sites or in conjunction with VCH should contact Providence Health Care Research Institute for library access advice:

Provincial Health Services Authority

BC Cancer Agency staff should contact BC Cancer Agency Library:

PHSA staff working under a joint employment contract with Vancouver Coastal Health should contact Vancouver Coastal Health Library Services:

Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children staff should contact the Clinical Librarian at the Child Development & Rehabilitation Evidence Centre:

UBC-affiliated staff of BC Children’s and Women’s Hospital should contact UBC Library:

Non-UBC-affiliated BC Children’s & Women’s Hospital staff, and all other PHSA staff, should contact the Study and Learning Commons @ BCCW:

Vancouver Coastal Health

Vancouver Coastal Health offers full library services to all employees.

In addition to VCH Library Services, Vancouver General Hospital staff can also use the UBC Biomedical Branch Library in the Diamond Health Care Centre:

Post-secondary institution libraries

BCIT (Burnaby)
Nursing librarian: Ana-Maria Ferrinho (Ana-Maria_Ferrinho@bcit.ca; 604-432-8546)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.bcit.ca/library/otherusers.shtml

Camosun College (Victoria)
Nursing librarian: Patsy Scott (scottp@camosun.ca; 250-370-3606)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://camosun.ca/services/library/services.html

Capilano University (North Vancouver)
Allied Health librarian: Kim Minkus (kminkus@capilanou.ca; 604-986-1911 ext. 7289)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.capilanou.ca/library/About/Community-Borrowers/

College of New Caledonia (Prince George)
Nursing librarian: James Lovitt (lovittj@cnc.bc.ca; 250-562-2131 x 5396)
Community borrower info: http://www.cnc.bc.ca/Exploring/Services/library/quicktips.htm#card

College of the Rockies (Cranbrook)
Nursing library technician: Sue Morin (smorin@cotr.bc.ca; 250-489-2751 x 3501)
Community borrower info: http://library.cotr.bc.ca/cotr_web.asp?IDNumber=313

Douglas College (New Westminster)
Nursing librarians: Mary Matthews (matthewsm@douglascollege.ca; 604-527-5438) or Christian Guillou (guillouc@douglascollege.ca; 604-527-5438)
Community borrower info: http://library.douglascollege.ca/services/community-reciprocal-borrowers

Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Langley)
Nursing librarian: Jan Penhorwood (jan.penhorwood@kpu.ca; 604-599-3236)
Community borrower info: http://www.kpu.ca/library/services/cb
Alumni borrower info: http://www.kpu.ca/library/services/alumni

Langara College (Vancouver)
Nursing librarian: Alison Curtis (acurtis@langara.bc.ca; 604-323-5465)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://langara.ca/library/services/alumni-visitors.html

North Island College (Courtenay)
Nursing librarian: Lynette Gallant (lynette.gallant@hotmail.com; 250-334-5097)
Community borrower info: http://library.nic.bc.ca/services/borrowing/library_cards.aspx#CB

Northwest Community College (Terrace)
Library Coordinator: Melanie Wilke ( mwilke@nwcc.bc.ca; 250-635-6511)
Community borrower info: https://www.nwcc.bc.ca/library-and-nwcc-id-cards/#publiccards

Okanagan College (Kelowna)
Nursing librarian: Roën Janyk (rjanyk@okanagan.bc.ca; 250-762-5445)
Community borrower info: http://www.okanagan.bc.ca/Student_Services/students/library/Services/CommunityUserLibraryInfo.html
Alumni borrower info: http://www.okanagan.bc.ca/Student_Services/students/library/Services/AlumniLibraryInfo.html

Selkirk College (Castlegar)
College librarian: Greg Currie (gcurrie@selkirk.ca; 250-365-1263)
Community borrower info: http://www.library.selkirk.ca/about/faqs-for-community-members/

Thompson Rivers University (Kamloops)
Nursing librarian: Michael Purcell (mpurcell@tru.ca; 250-828-5021)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/alumniandcommunity.html

Trinity Western University (Langley)
Nursing librarian: Duncan Dixon (Duncan.dixon@twu.ca; 604-513-2121 x 3923)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.twu.ca/library/borrowersguideindex.htm#who_may_borrow

UBC Vancouver (Woodward Library, Point Grey Campus)
Nursing librarian: Katherine Miller (katherine.miller@ubc.ca; 604-822-0295)
Community borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/borrowing-services/library-cards/unaffiliated/#Community-0
Alumni borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/user-guides/alumni/

UBC Okanagan Campus (Kelowna)
Nursing librarian: Robert Janke (robert.janke@ubc.ca; 250-807-9109)
Community borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/borrowing-services/library-cards/unaffiliated/#Community-0
Alumni borrower info: http://services.library.ubc.ca/user-guides/alumni/

University of the Fraser Valley (Abbotsford)
Nursing librarian: Heather Compeau (heather.compeau@ufv.ca; 604-504-7441 x 4096)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.ufv.ca/library/library-services--policies/borrowing-materials/

University of Northern British Columbia (Prince George)
Nursing librarian: Trina Fyfe (fyfet@unbc.ca; 250-960-5195)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://library.unbc.ca/using-library/circulation/becoming-patron

University of Victoria
Nursing librarian: Carol Gordon (cjgordon@uvic.ca; 250-721-6161)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://www.uvic.ca/library/use/borrow/borrowing/external/index.php

Vancouver Community College
Nursing librarian: Ella-Faye Zalezsak (efzalezsak@vcc.ca; 604-871-7000 x 7385)
Community and alumni borrower info: http://library.vcc.ca/using-the-library/borrow-renew-request/loan-periods-limits-and-fines/

Vancouver Island University (Nanaimo)
Nursing librarian: Jean Blackburn (jean.blackburn@viu.ca; 250-753-3245, x 2091)
Community and alumni borrower info: https://library.viu.ca/library-accounts-community-borrowers-alumni-and-others

 Contacts

604.736.7331
toll-free 1.800.565.6505 (Canada)

​​Librarian

Carol MacFarlane ext. 115

Home > Library